Home / Farm Family of the Year

Farm family of the year

The Frederick County Agriculture Business Council, in conjunction with the Great Frederick Fair and the Ag Education PR Commitee, awards one Frederick County farm annually as the Farm Family of the Year. The award recognizes outstanding agricultural achievement in proficiency of production, agricultural/civic organizational involvement, conservation and preservation of soil, water and energy. 

The contest is open to all family farms in Frederick County regardless of production as long as farms have been in operation for at least five years. Past applications are encouraged to reapply for this award. The application can be found here: Farm Family of the Year Application

2023 Winner: Clyde C. Crum & Son, Inc. – The Crum Family

Crum Family

2022 Winner: Glade Haven Farm – The Roderick Family, Walkersville

2021 Winner: Needwood Farms – The Pry Family, Burkittsville 

2020 Winner: The Lambert Family – Lambert Farms, Frederick

2019 Winner: The Stan Tucker Family – Mid-View Farm, Jefferson

2018 Winner: The Hildebrand Families – Rocky Glade Farm, Woodsboro

2017 Winner: Zene and Audrey Wofe – Laurelane Farm, Wolfsville

2016 Winner: Robert Valentine Family – Vales-Pride Farm, Emmitsburg 

2015 Winner: Mehrl Mayne Family – Mayne’s Farm, Buckeystown

2014 Winner: The Jim Stup Family – Teabow Farms, Walkersville

2013 Winner: The Eddie O’Hara Family – Hara-Vale Dairy Farm, Frederick

2012 Winner: The Paul Doody Family – Tulip-Pond Farm, Union Bridge

2011 Winner: The Mike Wilcom Family, Monrovia


2010 Winner: The Trego Zimmerman Family –  Auburn Farms, Walkersville

2009 Winner: The Harshman Family, New Market

2008 Winner: The Jack Aellen Family – Berrywine Plantations & Linganore Winecellars, Mount Airy

2007 Winner: The Hawker Family – Walnut Ridge, Middletown

2006 Winner: The Harry Black Family – Catoctin Mountain Orchard, Thurmont

2005 Winner: The Mike & Lisa Gaver Family – Gaver Farm. Mount Airy

2004 Winner: The Jesse & Catherine Burall Family, Monrovia

2003 Winner: Anthony & Alice Wilcom – Glade Creek Farms, Walkersville

2002 Winner: Garnett & Joann Wisner – Gentle Winds, Walkersville

2001 Winner: Michael & Cathy Strite – Gentle-Brook Farm, Jefferson